The Best Wedge “System”

We would all agree that we want to be consistent from inside 100 yards. There are basically two methods. There is a “Clock” System and a “Feel” System.

Most good players use a clock system, few hit shots totally based on feel. You have to try both to see what works best. I like the Clock system. I know how to get the club to 9 or 10 o’clock and how far it goes. My finish position is the same with both 9 and 10, my club speed is increased based on how much further I take the club back. My standard 60 yard shot is a 9 o’clock 58 degree wedge, and my stock 105 shot is a 9 o’clock 52 degree. If I need to hit it a little farther, I know how to give it a little extra speed at impact. Likewise, I know how to slow it down to hit it a little shorter. I’m pretty good with these yardages, and it’s because I’ve practiced it a lot over the years. So, I mix a little of both the Clock and Feel system in my game.

The Feel system is basically knowing a yardage, then just feeling the distance. You don’t consider how far you take it back or the speed of the shot, you just know the distances. This can be easier for some, but it takes a lot of practice to get really good at either method.

The most important thing for you is to try them both out!

I’d suggest working with the Clock system at first, then develop your own feels and tricks to hit your desired yardages that suits you and your game.